Baaba’s new single ‘Freak Out Ft. The Very Best’ is available to stream everywhere now.

In the song is a proverb that comes from the Fulanis, “The one who knows everything and don’t say anything is the wrong person. If you know, you have to share your knowledge. But the one also who knows everything and say all the things is also the one who destroyed everything. Because you should know, in your knowledge what you have to say and what you don’t have to say.” It’s not everything that has to be said.”

Watch The Official Video


Listen to the new single, ‘Freak Out’


Save the new single ‘Freak Out’ to your playlist on Spotify or Apple Music and get access to an exclusive first listen of ‘Casamance Nights’, track number 7 from the forthcoming album, ‘Being’. Once saved to your playlist the link below will redirect you to the preview.

Save the new single, ‘Freak Out’

Baaba Maal’s daring and dazzling new album, ‘Being’, will be released on March 31st, 2023.

The record is a powerful continuation of his pioneering, transcendent work over the last forty years, blending the ancient and the modern, the acoustic and the electronic. Extending his productive partnership with producer and multi-instrumentalist Johan Karlberg (Self Esteem, The Very Best, Santigold), his first album since 2016’s The Traveller, Being was recorded in Brooklyn, London and Senegal. On ‘Being’, there are seven songs shimmering in exquisitely clashing equilibrium between dirty thorny desert blues and intangible electro-spirituals, between uplifting chants and trance-like freak outs. They are about generational debts and conflicts, rivers, watching people, seeing new generations of Africans make themselves felt, the impact of technology, remembering dreams, the magic of place, the strangeness of time, the feeling of home, the stars above, and the rhythms inside and out.


  1. Yerimayo Celebration
  2. Freak Out Ft. The Very Best
  3. Ndungu Ruumi
  4. Agreement
  5. Boboyillo Ft. Rougi
  6. Mbeda Wella Ft. Paco Lenol
  7. Casamance Nights

“Each song of this album has its own personality. A song is like a person. It has a life, name, a character, and it has a position in life. I think that’s what makes this album so powerful – it is totally about now and where I am now, the dreams I have of the past and the future.”

Baaba Maal

Buy ‘Being’ – Out March 23rd, 2023

Register Your Interest In The Being NFT